Filed Under Religion

St. Augustine Church

St. Augustine Parish was formed in 1860 as part of Ohio City's St. Patrick's Parish—one of the oldest Catholic parishes in the city. Other Tremont churches formed from St. Patrick's include Annunciation Greek Orthodox Church (1871) and St. John Cantius (1899).

The need for a new parish in Tremont arose as people of Irish descent began moving into the neighborhood. In 1896 the Cleveland Catholic Diocese purchased the old Pilgrim Congregational Church (whose congregation had recently moved into a new building at the corner of West 14th Street (Jennings Avenue) and Starkweather Avenue. The “new” St. Augustine had been built in the 1860s in Victorian Gothic style, replacing the original frame church which stood at Tremont Street and Jefferson Avenue.

St. Augustine is an interesting blend of Romanesque and Gothic styles. Its Romanesque features include a corbel table–that is, a line of stone blocks–below the roofline; large gables; and rectangular columns or pilasters. The pointed arches above several of the entrances are more Gothic in design.

To meet the needs of the neighborhood's changing demographics, St. Augustine began offering Spanish-language services in the 1970s. The congregation focuses particularly tightly on aiding the homeless and people with disabilities.


St. Augustine, 2009 Image courtesy of the Center for Public History + Digital Humanities
St. Augustine, 1918 Image courtesy of Cleveland State Library Special Collections
Women's City Club, 1964 Members of the Women's City Club talk with Rev. Fr. Thomas Sebian in front of St. Augustine Church in 1964. Image courtesy of Cleveland State Library Special Collections
Sr. Chaminade & Gov. Gilligan, 1974 Sister Chaminade of St. Augustine Church meets Ohio Governor John Gilligan in 1974. The St. Augustine Hunger Center provides meals and other services to the homeless. Image courtesy of Cleveland State Library Special Collections


2486 W 14th St, Cleveland, OH 44113


Michael Rotman, “St. Augustine Church,” Cleveland Historical, accessed October 4, 2023,